Buy USA Legal R32 and R34 Skylines at Importavehicle.com!

Thursday, March 12, 2009

California Reintroduces Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Tests for Vehicles 15-Years Old and Older

California Reintroduces Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Tests for Vehicles 15-Years Old and Older

Here we go again! Legislation (A.B. 859) has been reintroduced in the California Assembly by Assemblyman Dave Jones (Assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov) to require annual Smog check inspections for vehicles 15-years old and older. The bill would also require that funds generated through the additional inspection fees be deposited into an account which can be used to scrap older cars. You may recall that in 2004 a new law was enacted in California to require the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles. Pre-1976 motor vehicles would remain exempt under A.B. 859. The bill has been referred to the Assembly Transportation Committee.


We Urge You to Contact Assemblyman Jones and Members of the Assembly Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Oppose A.B.
859

A.B. 859 ignores the minimal impact vintage cars have on air quality.



A.B. 859 could entice vintage car owners into allowing these vehicles to be scrapped.



A.B. 859 ignores the fact that vehicles 15-years old and older still constitute a small portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.



A.B. 859 ignores the fact that classic vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven.



A.B. 859 would increase costs by creating an annual inspection fee for owners of these vehicles.



A.B. 859 represents another attempt by California legislators and regulators to scapegoat older cars.

Please contact members of the California Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by phone, fax or e-mail to request their opposition to A.B. 859.


Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.


Assembly Transportation Committee

Click here to e-mail all Committee members.


Assemblymember Mike Eng – Chair
Phone: 916/319-2049
Email: Assemblymember.Eng@asm.ca.gov

Assemblymember Kevin Jeffries
Phone: 916/319-2066
Email: Assemblymember.Jeffries@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield
Phone: 916/319-2040
Email: Assemblymember.Blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Joan Buchanan
Phone: 916/319-2015
Email: Assemblymember.Buchanan@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Connie Conway
Phone: 916/319-2034
Email: Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Warren Furutani
Phone: 916/319-2055
Email: Assemblymember.Furutani@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Cathleen Galgiani
Phone: 916/319-2017
Email: Assemblymember.Galgiani@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Martin Garrick
Phone: 916/319-2074
Email: Assemblymember.Garrick@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal
Phone: 916/319-2054
Email: Assemblymember.Lowenthal@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jeff Miller
Phone: 916/319-2071
Email: Assemblymember.Miller@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Roger Niello
Phone: 916/319-2005
Email: Assemblymember.niello@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember John Perez
Phone: 916/319-2046
Email: Assemblymember.John.Perez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jose Solorio
Phone: 916/319-2069
Email: Assemblymember.solorio@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Tom Torlakson
Phone: 916/319-2011
Email: Assemblymember.Torlakson@assembly.ca.gov SEMA.

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Jesus Christ, I hate these politicians that come and make legislation on things that are none of their business. What is California's business on what vehicle you own? Better yet, what is the Government's business on what car you have?

This is just another way for the greedy politicians to get money. Car emissions in California is already a robbery. Do we really need more strict laws?

Anonymous said...

We all need to do something about this... or else we'll be registering our cars in another state!

Blog Archive