Buy USA Legal R32 and R34 Skylines at Importavehicle.com!

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

California Bill to Increase SB100 Exemptions from 500 to 750 Cars Per Year Considered

CALIFORNIA BILL TO INCREASE "SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED" CLASS FROM 500 TO 750 VEHICLES PER YEAR TO BE CONSIDERED BY COMMITTEE

Legislation (A.B. 1740) in the California Assembly to eliminate
the requirement that specially constructed vehicle registrations
be limited to only the first 500 vehicles per year was not
approved by the Transportation Committee on March 22.  However, a
modified version of the bill will be reconsidered by the
committee on April 5, 2010.  Under the amendment, the
registration limit would be increased from 500 to 750 per year.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Assembly Transportation
Committee (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support
for the Amended A.B. 1740

·Under current California policy, specially
constructed vehicles that do not receive one of the 500 sequence
numbers are subject to a "muddied" titling, registration and smog
check process.

A.B. 1740 will help mitigate the "black market" value
of these 500 sequence numbers which are often sold on e-bay and
other on-line auction sites.

A.B. 1740 recognizes the minimal impact specially constructed
vehicles have on air quality.

A.B. 1740 recognizes the fact that specially constructed
vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently
driven.

A.B. 1740 will help allow vehicle owners to confidently take
advantage of a newly-enacted vehicle registration amnesty program
for specially constructed vehicles that were previously
registered or classified incorrectly.  Under the new law, the DMV
will grant amnesty from prosecution to vehicle owners if certain
conditions are met, including the owner filing a completed
application with the department.

DON'T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Assembly
Transportation Committee today to urge support for the amended
A.B. 1740.

California Assembly Transportation Committee

Bonnie Lowenthal - Chair
Phone: 916/319-2054
Email:
Assemblymember.Lowenthal@assembly.ca.gov

Kevin Jeffries - Vice Chair
Phone: 916/319-2066
Email:
Assemblymember.Jeffries@assembly.ca.gov

Bill Berryhill
Phone: 916/319-2026
Email:
Assemblymember.Bill.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov

Bob Blumenfield
Phone: 916/319-2040
Email:
Assemblymember.Blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov

Joan Buchanan
Phone: 916/319-2015
Email:
Assemblymember.Buchanan@assembly.ca.gov

Mike Eng
Phone: 916/319-2049
Email:
Assemblymember.Eng@assembly.ca.gov

Warren T. Furutani
Phone: 916/319-2055
Email:
Assemblymember.Furutani@assembly.ca.gov

Cathleen Galgiani
Phone: 916/319-2017
Email:
Assemblymember.Galgiani@assembly.ca.gov

Mary Hayashi
Phone: 916/ 319-2018
Email:
Assemblymember.Hayashi@assembly.ca.gov

Jeff Miller
Phone: 916/319-2071
Email:
Assemblymember.Miller@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Connie Conway
Phone: 916/319-2034
Email:
Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov

Roger Niello
Phone:  916/319-2005
Email:
Assemblymember.niello@assembly.ca.gov

Chris Norby
Phone: 916/319-2072
Email:
Assemblymember.Norby@assembly.ca.gov

Anthony J. Portantino
Phone: 916/319-2044
Email:
Assemblymember.Portantino@assembly.ca.gov

Jose Solorio
Phone:  916/319-2069
Email:
Assemblymember.Solorio@assembly.ca.gov

Thank you for your prompt attention.  Please e-mail a copy of
your letter to Steve McDonald at
stevem@sema.org

No comments:

Blog Archive